Some transitiony thoughts

So I did eventually get some new clothes and am quite happy now that I have some decent threads to wear to school. Also, my mom was looking to clean out her closet so I took a few tops off her hands, but they’re mostly spring things and not so much for winter wear. (Although, seeing as how it was 68 just a few days ago, I’m not sure we’re actually going to have a winter this year.)

In other news, I was doing some deep thinking and self-examination last night and came up with a belated New Year’s resolution, beyond just quitting smoking. You see, historically speaking, I’m really not that great of a person. I try to respect others and be nice and everything, but really I end up hating about 80% of everyone I meet and although they don’t seem to realize it, usually when I interact with the obnoxious types I’m thinking really nasty thoughts about them. Furthermore, I have a tendency to only keep friends for a few years before getting bored with my social circle and purging, usually burning all my bridges in the process. I’m not quite sure why I do this; I only really have three friends whom I’ve known for more than three years, and one of them I barely speak to any more. I’m not the most sociable of people and generally like to spend a lot of time by myself (I haven’t actually gone out on a Friday night in over six months; I prefer to sit at home in the pitch-blackness watching horror movies by myself). I do enjoy interacting with others from time to time, but I usually get my fill in school or by going shopping or suchlike.

Anyway, this has been starting to change now that I’ve begun my transition. I find myself wanting to go out more and make more friends and such. I’m not quite sure what the dil is, but I assume that it has something to do with the fact that I was not comfortable with who I was beforehand. So, as to the New Year’s resolution: I’m resolving to try to be more sociable and not such a hermity homebody. I’ve joined my school’s chapter of Amnesty International and started a skeptics’ organization on campus, plus I think I’ll see if there’s some sort of queer students’ organization that I can get in on. Maybe between all of that and regular classes I’ll be able to meet some new people and actually form lasting bonds for once.

One thought on “Some transitiony thoughts

Leave a Reply

