Nameless, faceless drones

So I called the cable company today and notice a psychological phenomenon that I’ve noticed several times before but never really thought much about. As anyone who’s called a call center knows, they usually start by asking your name and then they tell you theirs. I hear it every time, but I can never remember their names; they go in one ear and right out the other. For the life of me I can’t remember any of their names even two seconds after they tell me; it just doesn’t even register.

I’m sure this is because to me they are simply nameless, faceless drones, completely interchangeable. They’re just a means to me, not an end. Kant would be ashamed. (Good think I think Kant was a shitty moral philosopher.) I was completely shocked to find that I functioned this way, since I generally value people pretty highly. Next time I call a call center I’m going to make an effort to remember the agent’s name, even if I have to ask them a million times. They deserve respect, or at least a name.

One thought on “Nameless, faceless drones

  1. It is rather irritating when the Sims several online game freezes during the action enjoy. You can not really do anything to solve the idea instantly. The freezing concern is therefore widespread that …games

Leave a Reply

