The world is a terrible place

SO I disappeared there for a while! These things happen. I’ve been going through a really crazy existential funk. Basically I’m losing my appreciation for the academic world, which is the only place I ever really fit in, so I’m working on trying to find my place in the world, which is causing lots of depression. The good news is that I got a new writing project out of it. It’s another novel (I’m still working on the other one; that’s actually what I’m doing right now), and I think I may post the tentative first chapter here once I’ve fixed a few things. (It’s more of a brief introduction.)

In other news, I’ve been slacking off on my studies just to see how much I can get away with. I found out that English professors are oblivious to slackerliness, whereas philosophy professors can spot it a mile away and punish it (I got B+s on an exam I didn’t study for in Theory of Knowledge and a paper I didn’t do all the reading for in History of Modern Philosophy, whereas in my English classes I’m writing my papers literally hours before they’re due and not proof-reading them and getting A+s). I should be working on a paper for a writing class right now, but instead I think I’m going to watch some shitty History Channel “documentary” about UFOs, which I intend to write about later. I don’t like being a slacker, but it’s hard to work when you’re incredibly depressed, especially when you can get away with it and not have any negative repercussions. (I have resolved to work harder in my philosophy classes, and intend to study for my Philosophy of Language midterm for a considerable chunk of time tonight and tomorrow morning.)

To make matters worse, I had a dream last night that an ex that I’ve never completely gotten over was killed and replaced by a really obnoxious doppelganger who seemed to embody the antithesis of everything I loved about the real woman. I’m sure any psychologist reading this would have some things to say about that. (Incidentally, she was killed by a cute fuzzy bunny and a really adorable cartoon penguin. For reals. I wonder what that means?) Anyway, the point is I woke up wanting to shoot my subconscious mind in the face. It’s times like this that I envy the lobotomized. Life would be much easier if we were all mindless drones.

Anyway, since I know I have a few friends who check in here just to see how I’m doing, I thought I’d post an update. More to come soon (hopefully).

4 thoughts on “The world is a terrible place

  1. So the world is a real shitty place, but here we all are having a pretty ok time in it.

    I’m glad you’re posting again 🙂

  2. You should post the first chapter/introduction to your new novel here. But, how is the other one going from 352? Everyone I’ve talked to (Allison, Thomas, and Zac) have all told me they haven’t bothered picking theirs up. Meranda told me she submitted a SUPER HAPPY STORY to the Laurus. We’ll see how that goes.

    Yeah, English professors for the most part can’t see slack, but my short story professor can. First B I got on a paper this semester was from him.

    • I am actually currently working on the project from 352, but I just picked it up two weeks ago for the first time since I submitted my final portfolio. I was sick of it after spending so much time on it in class, but now I’m ready to return to it.

      I’ll post what I have for this new project in a little while, probably by the end of this week. Look out for it!

Leave a Reply

