The countdown has begun

So I’m officially 10 days away from my appointment at the University of Nebraska Medical Center to see about getting started on hormone replacement therapy. I am super-psyched. I just got back from my doctor’s office, where I dropped off the release of information form so they could shuttle my records and such up to UNMC; the woman at the front desk said they’d have it there by the end of the week.

It feels good to feel like I’m making progress towards accomplishing a major life goal. I realize that HRT is a long and slow process and that I’ll be either popping pills or getting biweekly shots in the ass until I die, but still, it’s something I’ve wanted since I was a little kid. Hopefully I can develop an actual figure now instead of looking like a 2×4. However, I am a little anxious, because I have a history of depression and estrogen increases the risk of depression. Also, it increases the risk of breast cancer and blood clots, especially if you’re a dirty smoker like me. I think that just means I’ll need to make more regular visits to my doctor, though. And learn how to do breast self-exams. That’d probably be a plus.

All in all, it’s going to be a good summer. I’m on my third straight semester of having a GPA above 3.85, I’m starting hormones, and I don’t start my new job until August so I have all the time in the world to hang out at the Henry Doorly Zoo. Life is pretty good right now.

Leave a Reply

