The ups and downs: North Carolina and Tom Gabel

So I’m gonna admit, I was a little anxious about the big North Carolina vote yesterday. I stopped watching CNN around 4PM Central Time since I was getting too worked up over the news and switched to watching foreign horror movies. Some time between 8:45 and 9:00, shortly after starting Them (the awesome French home-invasion flick, not the awesome American sci-fi flick), I got the CNN notification on my Android that the amendment passed. At that point, I felt extremely exhausted and ended up going to bed.

Seriously, North Carolina. Why you gotta hate? I see no reason why anyone would be opposed to same-sex marriage; I have heard no compelling argument against marriage equality. To me, it’s a question similar to that of whether people of different races should be allowed to marry. It all boils down to whether or not two consenting adults who love each other ought to be allowed to express that love through a legal contract. If you think yes, then it applies universally. If not, you’re an asshole bigot and have no right to complain about your rights being trampled if such a thing should ever happen.

But there was good news yesterday as well! Against Me! singer Tom Gabel has come out as a transwoman! For once, I have something awesome on the queer front to look forward to when the latest issue of Rolling Stone pops up in my mailbox! Gabel says she will be beginning her transition soon, and will begin going by Laura Jane Grace. Seeing as how Against Me! is a fairly big band, I’m hoping this will go far in the fight for trans equality. To be honest, I’m wicked excited that young trans folks will have a rock star idol of their own. Hopefully this will be the start of a new day in the fight for queer acceptance.

One thought on “The ups and downs: North Carolina and Tom Gabel

  1. Pingback: Tom Gabel/Laura Jane Grace’s story in Rolling Stone | Spook-o-Rama

Leave a Reply

